Odds and sods mostly from Lincolnshire, the home of ponking (maybe part 2)

Ahh, it’s time to relax… is it ever?!?! It’s another odds and sods round of catching up on some bits while I have a free bit of time.

23/10/2014

Ampedus quercicola – 801, a nice little beetle found in some fallen deadwood, regrettable I can’t remember what species of tree it was, maybe ash. Seems to be quite locally common in Lincs with many blibs on the map (Link) . Stood out like a sore thumb and is the only species John finds. Pictures were crap which is frustrating, I think my camera might be on the way out.

24/09/2014, Bourne Sth Fen

Cyathus olla – 802, love this little fungi whose common name is the bird’s nest fungi although a few species do exist. Tight fungi forming with small oval egg-shaped (things, I’m no mycologist) that could be missed. A common fungi that is mostly found on mulch, twigs and sticks. Never tire of seeing this, just never put the name to it before. Photo taken on my phone, birds nest on the left of the picture.

IMG_0674

Cyathus olla

 

08/11/2014, Brackenhurst.

Part of a practical at Brack was to don the waders and get rid of the water soldier in the Dew pond for the benefit of the great created newt population on site. Basically the plant spreads like wildfire which shades out the pond and fills in all the open water. It’s spiky, it sinks in autumn/winter and if I’m honest I don’t particularly like the flowers. I might upset a few people too but I don’t care much for the newts either. Just never been too excited by them, or frogs or even the worst of the gang, toads. I can appreciate them but meh, not enough legs… now a six-legged newt!?

Water soldier, Stratiotes aloides – 803, what can I add what that I already haven’t? Bit confused because according to the wildlife trusts website it is a ‘native rare aquatic plant’? Rare…. is it? I’ll have a look into this in a bit more detail at some point, I’ve written it on the notice board and everything.

 

13/11/2014, out on the yard on south fen.

Greater willowherb leaf beetle, Altica lythri – 804, saw this a few weeks ago and forgot all about it until me and John were poking about under some eucalyptus bark today, four of them hiding between two trees at the base.

P1290485

Lepista nuda

Wood blewit, Lepista nuda – 806, seen under some birch today, identified by a friend of mine via the fungal lovers on facebook (link) which is random because I had no idea he was studying mycology and although we don’t speak that much, I can see that changing, I have still been in contact with him. The mushroom is edible but something I would myself still avoid, I’m not a massive mushroom eater. It was a fantastic colour though and quite picturesque looking for lack of a better expression. I am writing this after a long day.

 

Clustered domecap, Lyophyllum decastes – 807, found sprouting up around the entrance to the yard growing in almost a line in big clumps. Brown and what I always think of as like soggy cardboard, that might be just me though. the species part of the name decastes comes from latin meaning tens like the word decades (according to these anyhow).

P1290443

Lyophyllum decastes

 

 

06/11/2014, near Bulby

P1290425

Coprinopsis picacea

 

Magpie inkcap, Coprinopsis picacea – 805, forgot about this little gem of a fungi which stood proud out above the low vegetation flora. It was a beautiful piece of woodland that is was found in, even I can tell the differences over the past few years of naff management but I can’t really say much about it. Wrinkled peach was found not far from this on a standing dead elm too along with what is well worth a mention, a massive field maple that was laid in a hedge yonks ago.

P1290436

Looking forward to the mega ponk now on Sunday beetling the day away, ponk on.

About BeetlePunk

A naturalist from the best county in England, Lincolnshire.
This entry was posted in Beetles, Fungi, Lincolnshire Woods, nature, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

